Chapter 7: Breaks and Trips


One bittersweet joy of both Facebook and Google Photos is the memories notifications that they give me. I can’t resist looking back. It helps remember those times that we can never recapture, but thanks to technology they can be brought to memory and imagination. The beginning of March is ripe with spring break trips taken and adventures had – sometimes all four of us and sometimes just a quiet party of two. There were few years that we didn’t go somewhere, even if just day trips. Rather than recount each itinerary, here are some slices that I will always remember in my travels with Jeanette:

  • Prior to being married, we journeyed to Florida to visit the RV park where her parents wintered. I remember this as one of the few times with her that my migraines (technically cluster headaches) were daily. In the middle of the night I had to leave the RV and walk around the facility to find peace. Still, we made a fun week of memories with the boys – including our first trip to Universal (we just visited Universal Hollywood last week).
  • Memories of our three break trips to the Finger Lakes are near and dear to my heart. It was an exploration where everything turned out interesting and enjoyable and unique each time. The first was in a snowstorm, but we were happily trapped in a vineyard hotel with an amazing lake view and a warm gas fireplace. Another trip involved us sitting at a quiet counter and talking to the owner about a strange disease that was closing New York markets, and of course would close the world in the following weeks. And our last spring break trip was our first taking friends – two perfect companions for our journey, eating and exploring and telling tales of ghosts and waterfalls.
  • A spring break to Indy when the boys were younger was also full of great memories. Our favorite surprise however was when we stopped at Kalahari resort in Ohio on the way without telling the boys in advance. Jeanette then urged me to try my luck at getting a room upgrade for free – and it actually worked!
  • Pittsburgh provided my first time planning the whole trip for the whole family. I learned that cramming things into the schedule is my way to spend the day, while a balance of rest and relaxation is more in line with everyone else. This past week showed me the similar pattern, but I have learned to read their faces and respond if needed.
  • Finally, our final spring break trip for all four of us was last March. Timing her chemo treatments and fighting off neuropathy and other symptoms while balancing all of her meds, Jeanette was desperate for the warm tropical sun. I almost had to call it off the night before as she was having some troubling mental effects, but we made it and she was so satisfied to soak in the sunshine while we boys traveled or kept busy. Sitting on her parents’ lenai with a drink in her hand and talking with her parents has become a much more treasured moment now than I realized then. Turns out they all are.

Note: This is a slice of a story this month I’ve started calling Good Grief as a way to document some moments with my wife before she passed away in Sept 2023. Feel free to scroll back and see the rest of the story.


5 responses to “Chapter 7: Breaks and Trips”

  1. Oh, this is my first visit to your theme of “good grief.” What a wise idea, to write and write and write. My take-away here is- of course- to cherish our times together. But I also hope it is bringing you peace to remember how you managed to give your wife that time in the sun, and with her parents. What a precious time for all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful depiction of the times you had with your wife. Through your writing, I can feel the warmth and commitment you two shared. What a lovely way to honor her.

    Like

Leave a comment